South Ceredigion & North Pembrokeshire Colts v WA

Wed 8th August 2018 at 14.00
Wales won by 19 Runs
Played at Llechryd CC, SA43 2QB

Match Report

The Forty Cub Wales made it's annual visit to South Ceredigion to play the region's Colts XI at Llechryd Cricket Club. The hosts were boosted by the inclusion of some guest players from North Pembrokeshire, and the visitors included a visiting player from the North West, Steve Harrison, who had played in the IDT match at Liverpool in June. The visitors won the toss and batted, but lost an early wicket with the score at just one run. However, several medium sized stands followed, ably led by the captain, Andi Price, who scored a fine 77 off 61 balls. When he was the seventh man out, though, the score was only 129 off 25 overs, with ten to play. The lower order rallied round, though and took the score to 176 when the last wicket fell in the 33rd over. A major contributor was Pontypridd's finest, Lee Parry who scored a brisk 18 to be the last man out. The wickets were shared amongst the hosts, with Olivia North taking 2-9 and Titus Mathew 2-27. The combined team lost an early wicket, but this was followed by a stand of 53 for the second wicket between Louis Davies (33) and the captain George James (24).  Several small stands followed, but tight bowling by the visitors meant that the hosts were never able to get any large stands going. When the ninth wicket fell, they still needed 30 runs to win, despite innings by T Davies (25) and Joe Mansfield (22). Because the last man had been injured and was unable to bat, there followed a "last (wo)man stand" for Olivia North, which took the score to 157 when she was out for 12. The best bowlers for the Club were Lee Parry (3-27), Nick Evans (2-26) and Anthony Evans (2-30). The match was a good one, and thanks must go to the host club for their hospitality.  

Match Scorecard

Wales XL Vs South Ceredigion & North Pembrokeshire Colts

VENUE: Llechryd CC DATE: Wednesday 8th August 2018   START 1.35pm


Team Batting First – Wales XL

Team Batting Second – SC& NP C



Total No Batsman Total

R Harris St

J Mansfield Bd

T Davies

20 1 L Davies LBW Bd L Parry 33

N Harris (w) Ct

J Mansfield Bd

Z Khan

1 2 R Dyer Ct R Harris Bd J Lodge 7

A Price (C) Ct Z Khan Bd G James

77 3 G James © bd L Parry 24

T Harris Ct

J Mansfield Bd

R Dyer

11 4 T Davies Ct & Bd L Parry 25

N Crowcher LBW Bd T Mathew

4 5 J Mansfield (w) Ct & Bd R Harris 22

S Harrison Bd

G James

5 6 Z Khan St N Harris Bd A Evans 13

J Twigg Ct G James Bd T Mathew

3 7 J J Dow St N Harris Bd A Evans 5

J Lodge Ct Z Khan Bd O North

8 8 T Mathew Bd N Evans 3

A Evans Ct G James Bd O North

2 9 B Mansfield Ct A Evans Bd N Evans 0

L Parry Bd J J Dow

18 10 O North Bd R Harris 12

N Evans Not Out

2 11 I Dow Absent Hurt 0



(1LB, 23W, 1NB)



(8B, 1 LB, 4W)


Wickets 10    Score


Wickets   10            Score

Team Bowling First – SCC   Team Bowling Second – XL
Bowler O M R W   Bowler O M R W
Z Khan 4 1 11 1   A Evans 6 0 30 2
L Davies 4 0 20 0   J Lodge 4 0 35 1
R Dyer 5 0 33 1   L Parry 7 0 27 3
T Davies 4 0 21 1   N Evans 7 O 26 2
T Mathew 4 0 27 2   R Harris 2.3 0 12 2
G James 4 0 20 2   S Harrison 5 0 18 0
O North 3 0 9 2            
J J Dow 3.4 0 30 1            
B Mansfield 1 0 4 0            
  A Price 50: 44 balls, 67 minutes  
Result: XL Wales won by 19 runs    
Umpires: H Mitton & L Harris
Scorer: P C Stallard