The British Tamil CC v CP

Tue 21st August 2018 at 13.00
The Forty Club won by 40 runs
Played at Wickham Park CC, BR4 0AU

Match Report

On another lovely day at Wickham Park, XL won the toss and elected to bat.  After the early loss of Bob Green the Captain joined Sanjay Beri and put on 92 before Sanjay was caught in the deep to a fine catch by another XL man Sri after a dashing 59 in only 45 balls.  David Smith joined Jon Thornton at the crease and the pair put on another 50 before Smith was run out attempting an ambitious second. The final partnership of 65 between Neil Canham (not out 39) and Skipper Jon Thornton (not out 70) saw the XL innings close at 207 for 3 in the allotted 40 overs. After a lovely tea the British Tamils set after the total with the gusto XL are all too familiar with from our recent tour of Sri Lanka. Opener Rai was particularly brutal with the new ball bowlers and by the 11th over 78 was on the board for no loss. However once again the introduction of spin was to prove crucial. New overseas member, Ash Arora was once again devastating with his chinamen. He bowled Rai (49 from olny 27 balls), then left handers number 4 Ruben for 1 and very next ball XL stalwart (and rider for charity supreme) Michael Arnold behind his legs first ball. The Tamils kept attacking and by the half way point were 132-6.  It was clear XL would need to bowl out the opposition to win. Fortunately Ash Arora 8-1-31-5 and David Steele 8-1-48-3 were able to do just that.  The tail was mopped up by Wickham Park regular Tamil, who stepped in at the last minute following an injury to Andrew Smith.  The final wicket fell in the 29th over with BTCC all out 167. An XL win by 40 runs. Thanks must go to Cliff Hayward and Wickham Park CC for hosting the match once again. A great day was had by all and thanks to the generosity of Wickham Park CC and XL a further £150 was raised for the Manipay Hospital in Jaffna visited by the XL tourists in February this year.

Match Scorecard

District:  CP XL Club  v The British Tamil CC
Played on: Tuesday 21 August 2018 At:   Wickham Park CC
                    Toss won by: The Forty Club  who elected to  bat first
Result:  XL Won by 40 Runs (40 Over Match)
1st Innings:                                 2nd Innings:  
1 Sanjay Beri Ct Sri B Rukshan 59 1 Sri Bowled Steele 32
2 Bob Green Bowled Mike 0 2 Raj Bowled Arora 49
3 Jon Thornton* Not  Out 70 3 Murali Ct Dumper B Steele 25
4 David Smith Run Out 27 4 Ruben Bowled Arora 1
5 Neil Canham Not  Out 39 5 Michael Arnold * Bowled Arora 0
6 David Steele DNB 6 Mike Ct Robinson B Arora 4
7 Ash Arora DNB 7 Rukshan St Dumper B Arora 10
8 Nick Dumper+ DNB 8 Anthony Bowled T. Muthu 18
9 Ian Robinson DNB 9 Suresh Ct & Bowled Steele 10
10 Cliff Hayward DNB 10 Ranjith Not Out 6
11 Tamilmaran Muthu © DNB 11 Kugan Bowled T. Muthu 0
Extras 12 Extras 12
Total 207 Total 167
Wkts 3 Wkts 10
+ captain    † w/keeper   C = candidate/non-member
Bowling   Bowling
Bowler Overs Mdns Runs Wkts Bowler Overs Mdns Runs Wkts
Mike 8 0 47 1 Ian Robinson 5 0 56 0
Ranjith 5 0 24 0 Tamilmaran Muthu 6.4 1 22 2
Rukshan 8 0 46 1 Ash Arora 8 1 31 5
Suresh 8 0 38 0 David Steele 8 1 48 3
Kugan 8 0 30 0 Cliff Hayward 1 0 3 0
Anthony 3 0 14 0
XL Club umpire: John Widgery XL Club scorer: Peter Wiseman