The Forty Club

Founded 1936

H.R.H. The Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh KG KT
Henry Grierson
JRT Barclay
Past Presidents
Henry Grierson
Sir Pelham H Warner
Sir John Hobbs
Sir George Allen CBE TD
GO Shelmerdine
Herbert Sutcliffe
Francis Appleyard
Rt Hon Sir Robert Menzies KT CH QC
AER Gilligan
HEH Gabriel FCIB
SC Griffith CBE DFC TD
JRF Temple
His Honour WA Sime CMG MBE QC
EW Swanton CBE
Sir Leonard Hutton
Brian Johnston CBE MC
Lt Col JR Stephenson CBE
JA Bailey
Sir Oliver Popplewell
CA Fry
Honorary Fellows
MC Barton
CDE Bazalgette
PH Bown
JA Williams
CF Openshaw
TS Hale
RG Munn
JRA Widgery
BD Hunter
RCA Hart
RJ Evans
Honorary Life Members
DK Gaekwad
RB Simpson
R Illingworth CBE
DL Underwood MBE
Sir Richard Hadlee MBE
R Subba Row CBE
MJ Stewart OBE
Sir Garfield Sobers
Group Captain GP Carson
RW Tennant
Lord McLaurin of Knebworth DL
CA Fry
ED Ohm
RM Ellison

Privacy Policy Statement

The Forty Club will keep the personal information that you supplied when you joined the Club on the Club database. This information will be used to contact you and in order for the Club to operate effectively as a club.

We will presume that you are willing for the Club to keep your information on our secure database unless the Club hears from you to the contrary. You may ask to see this personal e data or ask for it to be changed or removed at any time, by contacting the General Secretary.

Your personal details will not be made available to anyone else unless requested by you.

The personal information of Officers, Executive Committee members, key post holders, district chairmen and match managers is made available to the membership and third parties via the Club website, via Club cricket and golf Fixtures Books, and via the annual Club Yearbook.

Any subscribed member who is not willing for his or her personal information to be shared in the manner described above is at liberty to 'opt out' with a request in writing to the General Secretary that their personal information is not published in these media.

Club Officers

Honorary General Secretary
Barry Aitken
The New House, High Street, Porton, Salisbury Wiltshire SP4 0LH

Tel: 01980 610836
Click to email
Honorary Treasurer
Stephen Kelly

Tel: 07875 330842
Click to email
Honorary Fixtures Secretary
Tony Fare

Tel: 0161 7903351
Click here to email

Honorary Membership Secretary
Mrs Paddy Gaywood
'Hartley Cottage', Hartley Green, Hartley, Kent DA3 7BL

Tel: 01474 702106
Click to email
Club Chaplain
(currently vacant)
Curator of WG Grace’s Grave
HD Smith

Click to email

Executive Committee

Phil Fawkner-Corbett
61 Combe Park,
BA1 3NH.

Tel: 07966 218053
Click to email
Committee Members
DP Owens
JM Roberts
ID Witchell
C Neill
R Walton
P Mason
Hon Secretary XL GS [co-opted]
plus the Officers of the Club
S Dell
N Bradley
M Barnes [co-opted]

Club Key Personnel

Cricket Manager
John Sharples
Tel: 0161 799 0030.

Click here to email
Dinner Secretary
M Barnes
Tel: 0208 337 4069.
Click here to email
Overseas Tours Manager
Hasan Jafri
Tel:  07882 635228.
Click here to email
Overseas Tours Manager
Rob Nelson
Tel:  07710 602866.
Click here to email
Yearbook Editor
BS Scovell
Tel: 0208 464 4133.
Click to email

C Openshaw
Tel: 01892 538351.
Click to email
Website Administrator
Brad Scarborough
Click to email
Website Administrator
Kevin Owens
Click to email

The Forty Club Golfing Society

Richard Freedman
Tel: 01730 265195.
Click here to email
Vice Captain
Douglas Adams
Tel: 01442 842746.
Click here to email
Hon. Chairman
Anthony (AJ) Colbeck
Tel: 020 7603 6362.
Click to email
Hon. Secretary
Peter Crowcroft
71 Brook Road South,

Tel: 07760 223227.

Click here to email
Hon. Fixtures Secretary
Stuart Bowden
Ways End,
Rowbarns Way,
East Horsley,
Surrey KT24 5RJ

Tel: 01483 285117.
Mob: 07860 274447.

Click to email
Hon. Mem. Sec. & Treasurer
David Lancaster
1 Harbourside,
Hampshire PO9 1TJ

Tel: 02392 455893.
Click to email
Honorary Life Members
Peter Wilson
Geoff Wyborn
Committee Members
The Captain and the Officers plus
Steve Barton
Chris Greet
Mike Johnson-Hill